First written document; diploma of donation, where "Avlabari" is mentioned dates back to 1392 .
The area was an integral part of the Metekhi rock, but only in the XVIII century, during the reign of Erekle II, it was merged to the city.
The word "bare" means the edge, fence. Since it was located outside of the city walls, the name "Avlabari" meant the outskirts.
Usually, Avlabari was populated by peasants, who worked for the king, nobles and priests. Also, the neighborhood was known for its craftsmen. Besides the Georgians, Persians, Greeks and Armenians used to live in Avlabari.
Between 1770 and 1781, Erekle II and later his son Giorgi XII, settled Armenian refugees in Avlabari.
Since then, the neighborhood has been gentrified and now it is a gem of Tbilisi. Examples of ancient Tbilisi residences are still preserved and they are standing proudly next to newer buildings. There, still can be seen the old city walls and remains of royal fortress. There are handful of churches on the territory, but probably most notable is Sameba: Holy Trinity Cathedral. Its surroundings offer a peaceful atmosphere and great views of the city.